SunCity Player


The Grass Roots - Senator C

Up next (2AM):

Suncity Before Dawn (SUNJOCK AUTO)


SunCity Radio 104.9 FM



  • Weather Updated: ~ 9:50pm

Today's Schedule Full Schedule

    Suncity Before Dawn
    2am - 6am
  • God & i
    SunCity Praise
    6am - 10am
  • Krazy Dean
    10am - 2pm
  • Mike
    2pm - 6pm
  • Senator C
    The Grass Roots
    10pm - 2am
  • Senator C
    10pm - 2am

Revisiting Sounds of Taxi

THE golden years of the Taxi label are revisited on “Sly and Robbie Presents Sounds of Taxi”, a compilation album recently released by Tads International Records. It contains 22 songs produced by drummer Sly Dunbar and bassist Robbie Shakespeare for the Taxi imprint, starting in the late 1970s with songs from Gregory Isaacs, the Tamlins, the Wailing Souls, Jimmy Riley, Junior Delgado and Sugar Minott. There are also songs from the 1980s by artistes who emerged during that decade, such as roots singer Ini Kamoze and deejay Yellow Man. The set closes with covers of Bob Marley&;s Crazy Baldhead and Running Away, recorded by Luciano and Beenie Man in the 1990s. The Taxi label was actually launched in the early 1970s by Dunbar and guitarist/bassist Bertram &;Ranchie&; McLean, who were members of Skin, Flesh and Bones, house band at the Tit For Tat nightclub in St Andrew.